Team

Astrid Mattes

is a political scientist and scholar of religion and leads the YouBeOn project at the Institute for Urban and Regional Research at the Austrian Academy of the Sciences. She teaches at the Universities of Vienna and Innsbruck and works on her habilitation in Religious Studies.

In her research Astrid focuses on questions of cohabitation in (religiously) diverse (urban) societies, on governance of diversity in liberal democracies, on Islam in Europe and the intersection of migration and religion. Currently, she is on parental leave.

Christoph Novak

is a political scientist and currently takes the lead in YouBeOn, where he is also responsible for the collection and analysis of data. Apart from working in this capacity at the Institute for Urban and Regional Research, he teaches Austrian and EU Politics at the University of Vienna.

As part of his dissertation, Christoph conducted a participatory photo interview project with young Muslims in Zurich and Vienna. Before that, he studied political science in Vienna and completed an MA in Culture, Diaspora, Ethnicity at Birkbeck College, University of London. His research has been mainly focused on narrative research as well as urbanity, diversity and youth culture.

Katharina Limacher

is a researcher of religions and contributes to YouBeOn with her expertise on religious communities. Katharina works at the interdisciplinary research centre „Religion and Transformation in Contemporary Society" at the University of Vienna. Apart from working as a lecturer in religious studies, her research focuses on the intersection of religion, society and migration. This includes research on Hindu-communities in Europe, social theory of religion, and questions of the relation of politics and religion.

Miriam Haselbacher

is a political scientist at the Institute for Urban and Regional Research and supports YouBeOn with her first-hand expertise in conducting qualitative social research projects. Before working at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, she was employed at the Department of Poltiical Science (University of Vienna), where she focused on the local dimensions of asylum and integration policies.

Shirin Abdolvahab

studies political science at the University of Vienna and works as an intern at YouBeOn. In this capacity she works on many different assignments, including (yet not limited to) reviewing scientific literature, preparing and processing the interviews, and attending to our social media accounts and the YouBeOn webpage.


Technical Implementation and Graphic Design

Ludwig Maximilian Breuer

is a linguist with an emphasis on Digital Humanities working at the ACDH-CH. Bringing in expertise from the humanities and social sciences, as well as from IT he coordinates the technical development of the homepage and the YouBeOn-application.

Markus Hasenberger

is our IT-expert developing the YouBeOn-application, which will highlight the multiple connections between on- and offline life worlds drawn from the data. Being also an astrophysicist in the making, we are excited to explore where his application will take us.

Eva Rauer

is a graphic designer and the creative mind behind the unique YouBeOn design. Eva did not only create the YouBeOn logo and is the one responsible for the look of the homepage, she is also gave our Instagram content it’s trademark look.


Scientific advisors

Those are the external advisors, which support the YouBeOn Team with their distinguished expertise:

Prof. Martin Baumann

University of Lucerne

Professor of Religious Studies,
Head of the Department of Religious Studies

Learn more

Dr. Giulia Evolvi

Erasmus University Rotterdam

Post-Doctoral Scholar, Research on Religion and Media

Learn more

Prof. Naika Fouratan

HU Berlin

Professor of Social Sciences,
Director of the Berlin Institute for Integration and Migration Research

Learn more

Prof. Viera Pirker

Goethe University Frankfurt

Professor of Pedagogy of Religion and Media Dedactics

Learn more

Prof. Lukas Pokorny

University of Vienna

Professor of Religious Studies,
Head of the Department of Religious Studies

Learn more

Das sind wir

Astrid Mattes (assoziiertes Teammitglied)

ist Politik- und Religionswissenschaftlerin und war bis Juni 2022 Leiterin von YouBeOn am Institut für Stadt- und Regionalforschung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Seit September 2022 bekleidet sie die Tenure Track Professur für sozialwissenscahftliche Religionsforschung an der Katholisch Theologischen Fakultät der Universität Wien.

In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sich Astrid mit Fragen des Zusammenlebens in (religiös) pluralen (Stadt-)Gesellschaften, mit Governance von Diversität in liberalen Demokratien, Islam in Europa und den Schnittstellen von Migration und Religion. Auch nach ihrem Fortgang vom Institut für Stadt und Regionalforschung bleibt Astrid dem Projekt eng verbunden.

Christoph Novak

ist Politikwissenschaftler und seit Juli 2022 Projektleiter von YouBeOn. Davor war er vorallem für die Datenerhebung, -aufbereitung und -auswertung zuständig. Neben seiner Tätigkeit am Institut für Stadt und Regionalforschung lehrte er lange Zeit am Institut für Politikwissenschaften der Universität Wien.

Zuletzt führte er für seine Dissertation ein Fotoprojekt mit jungen Muslimas und Muslimen in Zürich und Wien durch. Davor studierter er Politikwissenschaft in Wien und Culture, Diaspora, Ethnicity am Birkbeck College (University of London). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Narrativforschung, sowie Stadt-, Diversitäts- und Jugendkulturforschung.

Miriam Haselbacher

ist Politikwissenschafterin am Institut für Stadt und Regionalforschung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und unterstützt YouBeOn mit ihrer Expertise und Erfahrung im Bereich qualitativer Sozialforschung. Vor ihrer Zeit an der ÖAW hat sie am Institut für Politikwissenschaft der Universität Wien im Bereich Österreichische Politik und EU gearbeitet, wo sie sich vor allem mit der lokalen Dimension von Asyl- und Integrationspolitik beschäftigt hat.

Katharina Limacher (assoziiertes Teammitglied)

ist Religionswissenschaftlerin und unterstützt YouBeOn mit Ihrer Expertise zu religiösen Gemeinschaften. Katharina arbeitet am interdisziplinären Forschungszentrum „Religion and Transformation in Contemporary Society" der Universität Wien. Sie lehrt im Fach Religionswissenschaft und arbeitet zu Forschungsthemen an der Schnittstelle von Religion, Gesellschaft und Migration. Dazu gehören Forschung zu Hindus in Europa, sozialtheoretische Zugänge zu Religion und Fragen zum Verhältnis von Politik und Religion.

Shirin Abdolvahab (ehemaliges Teammitglied)

macht ihren BA in Politikwissenschaften an der Universität Wien und absolviert als studentische Mitarbeiterin ein Praktikum bei YouBeOn. In ihrem vielfältigen Aufgabenportfolio finden sich wissenschaftliche Recherchetätigkeiten, die Vor- und Nachbereitung von Interviews, sowie die Pflege unserer social media Accounts und der YouBeOn-Homepage.


Technische Umsetzung und Design

Markus Hasenberger

ist IT-Experte und baut die YouBeOn-Applikation, welche auf Grundlage der erhobenen Daten die vielfältigen Verbindungen zwischen on- und offline Welt visualisieren und erfahrbar machen wird. Wir sind gespannt bis wohin uns die Applikation des angehenden Astrophysikers bringen wird.

Eva Rauer

ist Grafikerin und die kreative Kraft hinter dem YouBeOn Design. Auf Eva gehen unser Logo sowie das graphische Erscheinungsbild unserer Instagram-Inhalte und unserer Homepage zurück.

Ludwig Maximilian Breuer (ehemaliges Teammitglied)

ist Linguist, spezialisiert auf Digital Humanities und unser Mensch am ACDH-CH. Mit einem Bein in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften und einem in der IT koordiniert er die technische Umsetzung der Homepage und der YouBeOn-Applikation.


Scientific Advisors

Diese externen Expert*innen beraten uns im Forschungsprozess und stellen dem YouBeOn Team ihr jeweiliges Fachwissen zur Verfügung:

Prof. Martin Baumann

Universität Luzern

Professor für Religionsiwissenschaften,
Leiter des Seminars für Religionswissenschaften

Mehr erfahren

Dr.in Giulia Evolvi

Erasmus Universität Rotterdam

Lektorin und Forscherin mit Fokus auf Religion und Medien

Mehr erfahren

Prof.in Naika Foroutan

HU Berlin

Professorin für Sozialwissenschaften,
Direktorin des Berliner Instituts für empirische Integrations- und Migrationsforschung

Mehr erfahren

Prof.in Viera Pirker

Goethe Universität Frankfurt

Professorin für Religionspädagogik und Mediendidaktik

Mehr erfahren

Prof. Lukas Pokorny

Universität Wien

Professor für Religionswissenschaft,
Vorstand des Instituts für Religionswissenschaft

Mehr erfahren